Slalom and Wildwater December 16, 2016 Update

The following update was sent Friday 16 December, 2016

This update contains info about the remaining December and January events for slalom and wildwater. Wildwater team nominations are now on the AC web site.

Nominations and Selections criterias are now opened for the 2017 Australian Wildwater Senior, Junior & Under 23 Teams to compete at the ICF Wildwater World Championships in Austria (Junior and U23) and France (Senior) (Nominations close 25th December 2016)

Senior Men and Women
U23 Men and Women
Junior Men and Women

Click HERE to access

  • National Downriver races  27 -30 December
  • Victorian Slalom Team
  • Aust Schools January 2nd to 6th
  • Nats Slalom January  9th to 13th

National Downriver races

AC website page

Enter events HERE. You can enter individual races at the Goulburn and at Childowlah 

Entries close 21st Dec. Late entries will not be available on the AC web site  contact Chris Wharton if you miss the deadline (will incur a late fee)

 Proposed Events program

  • 26th December, 2016 – Travel to Eildon VIC and training.
  • 27th December, 2016
  • – Southern Cup Sprint  short (Selection event 1)
  • – Southern Cup Sprint  longer in the afternoon.
  • 28th December, 2016 – Southern Cup Classic (Selection event 2) .
  • Travel to Childowlah
  • 29th December, 2016 – Sprint Championship (Selection event 3)
  • 30th December, 2016 – Classic Championship  (Selection event 4)

Full information about locations, map, races and times can be found in the pdf

Camping at OEG is available on 26th and 27th Dec at $20 per night per person. Contact Chris Wharton Camping available from 4.30pm 26th

 Victorian Slalom Team

Following consideration of the results of the from the Country Series race and Victorian Championships,we are pleased to announce the Victorian 2016-17 Canoe Kayak Slalom Team to compete at the national race in January 2017.

Congratulations to the following paddlers:

Womens K1   Senior team: Dita Pahl, Sally Wright, Maggie Webster

Junior team: Claire Tonkin, Zoe Lau

Womens C1   Junior team: Madison Wilson

Mens K1        Senior team: Jaxon Merritt, Warwick Draper, Tim Anderson

Junior team: Aiden O’Callaghan, Max McDonald, Samuel Grant

Mens C1        Senior team: Tristan Carter, Kaylen Bassett, Al Anderson

Junior team: Brad McLaughlan, Cam McLaughlan, Lachlan Bassett

Mens C2        Junior team: Speed/Loughran

Cadets           Sebastian Montalto, Mark Crosbee, James Stagoll

The selectors and 2016-17 team thank Lawrie Chenoweth at Australian Fabricating Industries (AFI) for supporting the Victorian Canoe Kayak Slalom Team.

Additionally the selectors, on behalf of the paddlers, thank the volunteers that have made the 2016 race season a great success.

Mike Lau Gooey. David Le Mottee (Chair Victorian Slalom Committee), Paul Grant (President Canoeing Victoria)

2017 Schools Slalom/DR Championship

Will be held on the Barrington River at Gloucester (NSW) utilizing “the steps” canoe slalom course. Note change of venue due to water issues.

2 to 6 January 2017

Entries are now open to the following events (please note that entries for each event close on the 16 December 2016):

Online entries are via the following link:

This event will be held at Glenbawn Dam which is located in the Upper Hunter Valley of NSW (15 minutes from Scone, Aberdeen and a bit further up than Muswellbrook). A caravan park/camping ground is located nearby to the venue.

2017 National Slalom Championship

The organisers of the carnival have confirmed the event will be held over the 9th to the 13th of January 2017. See AC site for info and registration.