2021 PV Marathon Victorian team selection

Although the 2021 Paddle Australia Canoe Marathon Championships were cancelled due to COVID-19 travel restrictions we wish to acknowledge the following paddlers who qualified for selection to the 2021 Victorian Canoe Marathon team.

Paddler Club Singles Doubles
Aidan Han Fairfield K1 M U16 K2 M U16
Andrea Szkibik PLCC K2 X V55-64
Bradley Buissink PLCC K1 M U14 TK2 M U14
Deborah Bennett INCC Yarra Paddlers K1 W V65+
Dominic Scarfe INCC Yarra Paddlers K1 M V55-64 K2 M V 45-54
Hamish Young INCC Yarra Paddlers K2 M Open
Isaac Johnson INCC Yarra Paddlers K2 M Open
James Miller Shepparton C1/UC1 M Open TC2 M Open
John Young INCC Yarra Paddlers K2 M V45-54
Karen Merlo Bendigo TC1 W V35+
Lachlan Dal Sasso Fairfield K1 M U16 K2 M U16
Nathan Jones Fairfield K1 M U18 K2 M U18
Neil Tattersall PLCC K2 X V55-64
Rachel De Kretser INCC Yarra Paddlers K1 W U23
Rebecca Mann Mercantile K1 W Open K2 W Open
Thomas Creed Goldfields Paddlers TC1 M U16
Tony Bond Echuca Moama C1 M V65+

Team manager: Peter Jones

Selection was based on each paddler’s performance at the 2021 Victorian Canoe Marathon Championships held at Geelong on 27th and 27th February, according to criteria explained in the 2021 Paddle Victoria Marathon Team Selection Policy (published on the Paddle Victoria website on 4th February 2021).  Paddlers in doubles events were selected on an individual basis (hence a paddler may qualify for team selection for doubles even if their partner did not qualify).

A number of other paddlers performed very well at the Victorian Championships but either did not seek selection or had not qualified by paddling in sufficient Victorian races over the preceding twelve months of racing (extended from the normal year due to COVID-19 disruptions to racing in 2020).

Although the 2022 competition is still some way off we encourage all paddlers aim for the Victorian Championships, likely in late February or March, and the Australian Championships, expected to be held in Queensland from 21st to 24th April.

John Young
On behalf of the Paddle Victoria Marathon Committee

Previous article**** CHANGE OF VENUE **** Yarra Series 2 Update
Next articleMarathon Winter Series race 2 – Sunday May 30 Murray Classic Yarrawonga (singles)