Victorian finalists announced for the 2013-14 Australian Canoeing Awards

Australian Canoeing receives a number of nominations for paddlers to receive Awards for 2013-14. This year there were over 100 nominations and three Victorian paddlers were selected to be part of the 22 finalists announced by Australian Canoeing this week.


Congratulations to Steve Vegh for being selected as a finalist under the Coach of the Year category and to Oliver James and Kayla Whinray for being selected as finalists in the Junior Canoeist of the Year in the Non-Olympic Discipline or Category.


Steve Vegh coaches athletes in outrigger, marathon and sprint from beginner to World Championship level. One of Steve’s athletes, Amanda Jane Reynolds finished 3rd in the K1 200 LTA at the ICF Paracanoe World Championships.


Oliver James won the Under 16s and Under 18s K1 at the Marathon National Championships and won the Under 16 K1 1000m and 2500m at the Canoe Sprint Nationals.


Kayla Whinray won both the K1 and K2 Under 18 titles at the Australian Marathon National Championships and was the only Under 18 female to be selected into the Australian Team for the 2014 Marathon World Championships.


The winners will be announced at the 2014 Annual Awards evening to be conducted in Sydney on the 25th of October.


2013-14 has been a strong year for paddling in Australia. From the athletes to the coaches and volunteers the paddling community has worked impressively to achieve results that they should be proud of.  Australian Canoeing will decide the award winners on the 25th of October after careful consideration of the high-quality finalists.


For more information you can read the original Australian Canoeing article here

Previous articleSlalom Yarra Series Final Wrap Up – Race 5 Dights Falls
Next articleVictorians Have Success at National Downriver Championship