Great racing at the Wildwater Nationals 2008

The Wildwater Nationals held on the King River on the weekend, attracted an elite, competitive and prestigious crowd.

While the King Vallley showed off all its beauty, the top 20 Wildwater paddlers in the country battled it out for the title of Australian Champion.  With all the support crew and communications in place, the Classic Course challenged both the competitors technical ability as well as endurance.  Dan Hall, completed the course the fastest with Mathew French coming in a close second, Carol Hurst first for the ladies with Andrea McQuitty hot on her heels.

The Rapid sprints was the adrenalin pumping race for the weekend, with the event seeing the inaugural rapid sprint teams race.  From the compiling desk in the carpark, the potential boat carnage could be heard echoing throughout the valley.  However, the competitors showed off their skill with little damage to boats or paddlers.

Dan Hall and Mathew French took out the rapid sprint mens open category with Matt Dalziel second fastest overall.  Andrea McQuitty took out the ladies open with Carol Hurst second.
The Juniors / Schools saw Shaun Wilson take out both the Classic and Rapid sprint medals with Alex and Robert McIntyre following closely behind.  Alayne Bonney held up the flag for the ladies juniors and schools posting competitive times.

Saturday night hosted a great dinner out for all the competitors and volunteers.  Station Creek Winery delivered a delicious meal and great atmosphere.  Thanks also to Pete (Mercantile) who displayed his photos of the day on the plasma in the restaurant. 

As the event organiser I need to once again thank Dave Gray and Tony Misson for their huge contributions to the event – Dave, I think completed a Bi-athalon both days with all the running around he did !  Without their advice and consultation the event would never have happened.  Thanks also to the volunteers that made it up on the weekend to help out. 


Andrea Boothroyd – Canoeing Victoria (left Melbourne both days at some …. hour like 4am to help on compiling),
Jen Young – compiling and start (and loads of other stuff),
Catherine Gardiner-Gaskin – Whitehorse CC – Finish both days,
Geoff Hindle – Fairfield CC and CV Board Member – Finish both days,
Tom Misson – Bendigo Canoe club – Start
Gary Wilson – Start both days
Linda Mic – Whitehorse CC – Start
Martin Shipp – Tasmanian CC - Beam / Timing / Clock preparation.
Peter McIntyre – River Rescue
Paul Sorrentino – Whitehorse CC – River Rescue
Mick De Wit – Whitehorse CC – River Rescue
Brandon Fincuane – Whitehorse CC – River Rescue
GWS First Aid – Peg, Ken and Family
WICEN NSW – David, Max, Duncan, Fred and Alan – Communications

Plus those that stood on the side with the extra throw bags.

List of Champions

Canoeing Victoria hopes that all the competitors had a great weekend and was pleased that all competitors, volunteers and spectators were safe and sound at the end of it. 

What Next?

2008 Victorian Championships (TBD)
2009 World Cup – October / November Tasmania
Previous articleMarathon Vic Champs results now available
Next articleSuccessful VIS Scholarships