What is Canoe/Kayak Marathon?

Toggle content goes here, click edit button to change this text.

What is marathon?

Marathon racing involves paddling over long distances, on either the flatwater of lakes and dams, or the flowing water of a river. Victoria has many long rivers well suited for marathon canoeing. Paddle Victoria and its affiliated clubs conduct marathon races throughout the year and throughout the state.

Traditional marathon racing competitions, like the World Cup and World Championships, involve a fixed flatwater course with regular portages, where the paddler must carry the canoe or kayak. Marathon races are held throughout the year in Victoria and cater for a wide range of ages and abilities. Most races are structured such that everyone, from novices to elite racers, can race over a distance suitable for their level of ability.

Many Victorian races have a full distance of around 24-32km for open age-group competitors while juniors and veterans will race reduced distances depending upon their age group. Most competitors race K or TK class craft but a wide range of craft including ocrean skis, outrigger canoes and stand up paddleboards are accepted at most Victorian marathon races.

Top paddlers can progress through the Victorian Championships to the Australian Championships and from there to the World Championships; an event in which Australian athletes have achieved great success. For many, the pinnacle of marathon racing is the annual Massive Murray Paddle, one of the longest annual canoe races in the world. Run over five days, it covers 404km of the mighty Murray River between Yarrawonga and Swan Hill.

If you are interested in reading more information on marathon paddling visit the Paddle Australia marathon page.


In Development


PV Marathon believes that safe and efficient management of events requires officials and volunteers to have trained in advance for the roles they fill at events.

To help prepare volunteers for race day, we have produced a series of videos for different volunteer roles. Click here to view training videos.

Team Wear

Paddle Victoria Marathon now offers a range of on-water paddling tops and off-water tees, hoodies, jackets andmerinos.
All items are embroidered with the Paddle VIC Marathon logo and are in Victorian team colours. These items will comple


ment your paddling uniform and are ideal to wear at Nationals, PV Marathon events or training. Please note all items are optional; you do not need to buy any item unless you wish.

Click here to view the full list of items.

Items will be available at PV Marathon events for you to try on andbuy, or you can place an order on-line through the Paddle Vic website at any time if we don’t have the items you want in your size, or directly via our “shop” on Register Now at:


Past Club Points Results (Click Here)

Race Records

Race records document the fastest times for major races in various classes.

Echuca Mini

Murray Marathon / Massive Murray Paddle

Getting Started

Paddle Victoria Marathon Clubs

Paddle Victoria has many affiliated clubs who specialise in marathon paddling and have club coaches and boats available for their members to use when building their skills. For more information, contact the clubs directly. A list of clubs who support marathon paddling can be found here and their contact information can be found here.

Victorian Team

In development

Contact Us

hair John Young 0417 444 350 OR marathon@paddlevic.org.au
Vice Chair Vacant
Treasurer Vacant*
Secretary Sue O’Rourke 0418 234 138
Communications Officer Arabella Eyre 0488 235 521
Marathon Diary Coordinator Sally Miller 0409 564 329
Sport Development Coordinator Vacant*
Junior Development Coordinator Debbie Bennet 0418 562 617
Uniform Coordinator Vacant*
Equipment Coordinator Vacant*
Compliance Coordinator Vacant*
Race Coordinator Vacant*
Volunteer Coordinator Vacant*
Recognition Coordinator Vacant*

* If you are interested in the positions listed as vacant please contact John Young.
For more information email Arabella.