Victorian Slalom Championship Results

Victorian Slalom Championships Wrap Up
Over 50 competitors attended the 2013 Victorian Championships with age group medals decided on the Saturday Race which also served as qualification for the open title race on Sunday. In what was a thrilling weekend of racing on the Goulburn River, young talent Jaxon Merritt blitzed the Finals course in 74.06 secs in K1 beating 3 time Olympian Warwick Draper by over 7 seconds, with Mark Nicholds a close 3rd. Dita Pahl produced a clean and quick run to win the Ladies K1 title ahead of Eliza Singleton and C1 specialist Leanne Guinea. Leanne then took out the Ladies C1 title with a strong performance, ahead of Maggie Webster and Eliza Singleton. Leanne also teamed up with brother Chris to win the Mixed C2 ahead of the crews of Warwick Draper / Sally Wright, and  Mark Nicholds / Georgia Merritt. Christian Fabris was the quickest C1 down the course but an unfortunate penalty allowed Warwick Draper to claim the C1 Mens title, with under 16’s young gun Tristan Carter showing he means business taking out 3rd place. In the Ladies C2, junior crew of Krystal Davis / Kate Poulier took the win ahead of Dita Pahl / Eliza Singelton. In the Mens C2, Draper teamed up with Chris Guinea taking the title ahead of junior crew Tristan Carter / Ashley Hobbs and Adam Rajic / Anton Ivkov.
Congratulations to the 2013 Victorian Champions:
Mens K1 – Jaxon Merritt
Ladies K1 – Dita Pahl
Mens C1 – Warwick Draper
Ladies C1 – Leanne Guinea
Mens C2 – Warwick Draper / Chris Guinea
Ladies C2 – Krystal Davis / Kate Poulier
Mixed C2 – Leanne Guinea / Chris Guinea
Previous articleVictorian Downriver Championship 15th Sep 2013
Next articleMarathon Newsletter