The Victorian Slalom Technical Committee sends our congratulations to the Slalom athletes that will be nominated to the AOC to represent Australia at the Beijing Olympics to be held in August this year.

The Oceania Olympic Qualification race (which was combined with both Junior and Senior National Slalom Team selection trials) held at Penrith Whitewater Stadium on March 15 and 16 and the subsequent Senior Slalom Team selection trials held the following week on March 21 and 22 at the same venue delivered the most exciting Slalom racing seen in years.

The athletes to be nominated to the AOC are:

Warwick Draper K1M    (VIC)  VIS individual scholarship holder
Mark Bellafiore C2M      (VIC)  VIS individual scholarship holder
Lachlan Milne C2M         (NSW)
Jacqui Lawrence K1W    (NSW)
Robin Bell C1M              (WA)

Of particular note is that Robin will represent Australia at his third consecutive Olympic Games. Warwick Draper (VIS) and Mark Bellafiore (VIS) will represent Australia at their second consecutive Olympic Games.

Considering the restrictions Victorian athletes face in terms of a total lack of a suitable Whitewater venue combined with the ongoing record low water levels in our rivers, the Victorian athletes have performed extremely well when compared to the highly funded athletes in other States who also have permanent access to the Penrith Whitewater Stadium.

Congratulations to all, but in particular our congratulations to Warwick and Mark.

Max Parsons

Previous articleAust Canoe Polo Championships Results
Next articleMax Parsons resigns from Victorian Slalom Technical Committee